Well, nearly a full year later and…I’m back. I think.

If you want to skip the teal deer (of which there is much as I whine aboue the last nine months), there’s a couple of questions at the end of this post which are about 40% of the reason for posting and I’d be grateful for any answers.

With that out of the way, some teal deer (say tl;dr out loud) of the whiny variety…

In the nine months I’ve been away from here, I’d love to say that I was super productive and successful…but I would, in fact, be lying.

I attempted (and failed) at NaNo

I attempted and (mostly) succeeded at Yuletide but in the process stressed myself out so badly over one of the stories that I ended up orphaning it (something I never thought I’d do) because that seemed like the only way to get it out of my head (note to self for next Yuletide: if, after the first month, your impulse is to default, just default, it’ll save you the heartache). Of the stories I didn’t orphan, my fix-it for Jason Bourne was definitely my most popular story; my attempt at historical fiction for the Mughal Empire (yes, really) is the story I was most pleased by. And no, I’m not saying what it was I orphaned – that’s sort of the point!

I also attempted to apply for something that would have been pretty much my dream job.

Note the use of the verb attempt.

There’s been some health issues, there’s been some (a lot) of notivation and there’s been so much stupidity that I don’t even really know where to start (and as that stupidity is veering into political territory, I’m not even going to try – suffice to say, throw a dart at a newspaper and you’ll hit some).

But in between all that, there was a lovely vacation and seeing friends and a Christmas Eve Eve moonlit swim (yes, really!) and a job that is still employing me even if it drives me around the twist sometimes. (Why yes, my boss IS on vacation this week – how did you guess?)

So it hasn’t been all bad.

And it seems to be getting better (she says tentatively). I’m writing again. Nothing too substantive and nothing I particularly want to share yet, but it’s making progress. I’ve also solved another of my world building problems on Sunday with an idea that is, frankly, so utterly genius and simultaneously so blindingly obvious that I’m torn between an epic facepalm and yelling it from all the high places in town.

Lastly, a couple of questions:

  1. What is the shortest work of fiction you’d consider buying as a standalone unit? (Options: Short story [1000-9999 words], Novella [10k-49k], Novel [50k+]
  2. If you’d consider buying a short story, how much would you expect to pay? (Assume we’re talking about an eBook of some description rather than a physical book!)

 

